Open Source 001: Development Environment

It has been awhile since I developed anything for fun. This series will document the steps I have taken to get my own developments going. As the series title suggest, I will be referring to a lot of sources on the internet.


1. Virtualisation

I have chosen to use my gaming machine as the host since there are more system resources available, and honestly I was not willing to subscribe to any IaaS providers. The machine is running on Windows 10.

As we all know, if we are going to be dealing with a lot of open source programs, then a Linux OS will probably be more efficient than my current Windows 10. I have chosen to use Ubuntu through a VM on VirtualBox. Why I chose this arrangement over dual boot? I prefer to watch Netflix on my host OS while I compile stuff on my development environment ūüėõ


2. Docker

I recently got to know about Docker technology. Sounds like a good way to do development on any machines without worrying about dependencies.


3. Node.js

I am using node only as an example since there are plenty of resources available online to guide me. Purely a personal preference. The following guides will cover instructions to install node, along with other software installation, and tutorial that covers the basics of node application development.

 


4. Putting it together

Now that I am able to build a simple full stack application, it is time to put all the knowledge together and make the application deployable everywhere.

Leave a Reply

